music for the sentimentally challenged

  • Stars – Your ex-lover is dead [stream]

“God, that was strange to see you again
Introduced by a friend of a friend
Smiled and said, “Yes, I think we’ve met before”
In that instant it started to pour”

  • The Smiths – Last night I dreamt that somebody loved me [stream]

“Last night I dreamt
That somebody loved me
No hope, no harm
Just another false alarm”

  • The Moldy Peaches – Nothing came out [stream]

“And besides you’re probably holding hands
With some skinny pretty girl
That likes to talk about bands
And all I want to do is ride bikes with you
And stay up late and maybe spoon”

  • Lavender Diamond – You broke my heart [stream]

“I feel the field of battle within my life
I hear the calvalry of light
I see the sound of endless sight
I feel the field of battle within my life”

  • The National – Mistaken for strangers [stream]

“You get mistaken for strangers by your own friends
when you pass them at night under the silvery, silvery citibank lights
arm in arm in arm and eyes and eyes glazing under
oh you wouldn’t want an angel watching over
surprise, surprise they wouldn’t wannna watch
another uninnocent, elegant fall into the unmagnificent lives of adults”

  • This Is Ivy League – Don’t waste your love on me [stream]

“Please, please, please,
Don’t waste your love on me
You know I would, only if I could
But don’t waste your love on me
Please, don’t wear your velvet dress tonight
Because if you do I think I might break down on the dance floor”

“Hey, could you stand another drink?
I’m better when I don’t think,
It seems to get me through.
Well, do you want to spin another lie?
Like we had a good time,
Not that I need proof”

“I’ve stopped my rambling
I don’t do too much gambling these days
These days
These days I seem to think about how all the changes came about my way
And I wonder if I’d see another highway”

  • Harlem Shakes – Unhurried hearts [stream]

“We met at a pre-war protest
saw your brother getting maced with my zoom
the sun won’t rest and we’re still obsessed
and the bustle don’t block the gloom
but take solace in solipsism
does anyone know a good joke?
the sun won’t rest and we’ll do our best
not to die unloved and broke”

“Well, you’d never known love and you’d never known pain
But you found out that they were just like wine and champagne
You could drink a little more, then you hurt a little less
And you’d get that butterfly feeling underneath your dress”

Leave a comment

Filed under Playlists

Leave a Reply

