soon shattered the hot light

“If I could show her completely (Funny how everything makes you feel low when you’re already low)
But it comes out so drunkardly now (Lying on the bed, the light-bulb banging down)
Fall over on my words (Get up, pull the sheet from the window, to see the rain still coming down)
That peace when the door slams (Downstairs there’s hot coffee, sit down to a cigarette)
Soon shattered the hot light (Down to the filter, another and down to my last)
I came so well-oiled (Another and my last penny)
You let me forget again (4 a.m. 6 feet down. Already up with the larks)
And I came stumbling through
You let me forget again (4 a.m. 6 feet down. Already up with the larks)
Forget what I always knew”

Song of the day.

Tindersticks – Cherry Blossoms

Leave a comment

Filed under Song Of The Day

Leave a Reply

